Knitting · Life

Introduction

It has been a long time since I’ve written more than a comment, tweet, or status update for all the interwebs to read, and I’m finding myself surprisingly nervous about it. Lets see, where shall I begin? Okay, how about this: It’s 1:30 in the morning and I really ought to go to bed. No, too status update-y. Alright, here we go for real…

Hello, my name is Mandy and I’m a yarn-aholic. I have been married for ten years, and together we have a four-year old son.

Right around the time I found out I was pregnant, I taught myself how to knit by following the written directions on a leaflet that came with my needles. I knit about a dozen swatches before pregnancy brain took over and I didn’t look back. It wasn’t until last year, after my husband was laid off, I started working part-time in a very stressful office, and we realized we would have to give up our house; that I felt drawn to knitting again. I needed something, anything. A distraction to ease my mind, my stress, and worries about our future. So, I dug through the baskets in what was once my quilting room, until I found a skein of Red Heart yarn and a pair of aluminum Boye needles that had to be about fifty inches long. I needed a refresher, so I sat down with my computer and watched three or four YouTube videos, then a few more on Knitting Help, and I began to knit.

I fell in love.

Fellow knitters know what I’m talking about. That moment when this crazy technique of wrapping string around sticks suddenly turns into something real. Something beautiful. Your hands begin to complete the motions effortlessly, and your mind begins to meditate as it follows along to the rhythm of knit two, purl two. It was then that I dusted off my Ravelry account and began reading the forums and connecting with this amazing community of knitters, crocheters, and spinners. I quickly became a yarn hoarder and needle addict. If there’s one thing other knitters (crocheters, spinners) are notoriously known for; it’s enabling other yarn obsessed individuals in to buying more goodies. I am easily enabled.

Wyatt Sweater by Kelly Herdrich

My first project was the typical scarf that just about every new knitter has started, but has never been finished.

My second project was a sweater for my son. It was a much easier knit than I thought it would be, but by the time I finished it, I realized I didn’t make the armpit area deep enough. He wore it all of ten minutes, and it is now folded neatly in a drawer. Sometimes when I’m putting his clothes away, I see it and think about ripping back the arms and fixing it, but then I come to my senses. It’s much too small for him now, anyway.

Butterfly Beret by Rachel Iufer

Soon after finishing the sweater, I discovered how much fun hat knitting is. One skein of yarn or less, and most can be knit up in a day or two. Whoosh! First I knit one for my son, then my husband wanted a matching one. I guess I could say that I went on a hat knitting binge. And I loved every minute of it.

Downton Cowl by Shannon Cook

I then decided to throw in a lace cowl for good measure, and I have recently knit my first and soon to be second (and third) shawls, but I’ll save those details for my next post.

So, I’m just going to go ahead and end this piece of rubbish abruptly with this: Ah, forget it. I gotta go to bed. Goodnight.

~Mandy

Please Share Your Thoughts

