Knitting · Life

Socks!

August has been so busy; I can’t believe it’s nearly September.

SQUEE!

I am really looking forward to Fall. I’m absolutely giddy over it. The temps are starting to cool down, and I’ve started baking again. Cookies, breads, and hearty soups and casseroles. The ability to use the oven again, without melting in to a pile of goo, has always been the best indicator of Summer’s end in my humble opinion. Of course, it’s still a bit hot during the afternoon and the wood for winter still needs to be chopped and stacked, but with the days getting shorter and shorter, our evenings have been cool and breezy. Perfect for knitting and spinning.

I haven’t been spinning like I’ve wanted to, but only because I had been kid-sitting for a family member and my house was overrun with rambunctious boys almost everyday. I felt it was best for my wheel to be safely protected from the pile-drives and flying ninja kicks by putting her away. Now that school is back in session, I only have my one little at home, and he is well aware of Mommy’s knitting and spinning wheel rules. So, I’m hoping to get back to it in the days ahead. Since I haven’t had my spinning wheel at the ready to sit and practice the last few weeks, instead, I’ve been knitting, knitting, knitting!

What have I been knitting? Well, first I finished my Weather the Weather hat. This is a free pattern by Megan Williams of the Stockinette Zombies, and it was an absolute pleasure to knit. It is knit with 100% Superwash Merino Wool by Marigoldjen Yarns in the Happy Days color way. This yarn is so soft and so squishy! I love it and I NEED MORE! I highly recommend it!

Weather the Weather Hat
Weather the Weather Hat

And…

Drumroll please…

I have finally knit my first pair of socks!

D7K_6170_Rav
Magic Loop Toe-Up socks with Fleegle heel. (Unblocked)

I used this beginner’s pattern and the yarn was part of my Loopy Groupie welcome package. It’s Three Irish Girls Adorn Sock in the Amazonia color way. And I gotta say, I LOVE KNITTING SOCKS! Wow, I had no idea it would be this much fun. I’m a convert. Sock knitter for life, yo!

And I’m almost done with a second pair. For my husband. With HUGE feet.

D7K_6227_Rav
Socks for the Hubby

They’re taking forever, and I’m not a huge fan of this color way, but my husband loves it and they’re socks, so it’s still really enjoyable to knit. When I’m (finally) finished, I’m planning on casting on both the Blurred Lines socks and the Vergeven socks. I’ve gone a bit sock crazy. I’ve heard there isn’t a cure.

Also, I want to knit this bunny for my son’s birthday. In December. My winter/birthday/Christmas knitting list is starting to get out of control. Just a little. Maybe a lot.

~Mandy

2 thoughts on “Socks!

Please Share Your Thoughts

