Knitting · Life · Spinning

Dreams, Defeat, and Doctor Who

I dream about spinning.

I haven’t spun on my wheel in over a month, but I dream about it almost every night. I even dreamt about navajo plying, but I have yet to use that technique in practice. Why haven’t I been spinning? I need more bobbins, or rather, I need to wind off what I have spun on to something else until I’m ready to ply. I made the unfortunate decision when I bought my wheel, that extra bobbins could wait, and now they’ve had a price increase putting them out of my reach until after the holidays.Β Sigh. It’s my own fault. In the meantime, however; I’m thinking of buying some storage bobbins, like the Bobbins Up! from artUwear. Have you tried these? Do you like them? They have great reviews and they are incredibly affordable. I think I’ll be ordering some in the near future, before my happy spinning dreams turn not so happy.

In the absence of spinning, I’ve had time for quite a bit of knitting.

Hubby’s socksΒ are finished, and he absolutely loves them. He has proved himself sock worthy, so I’ll definitely be knitting more for him in the future. This, of course, makes my knitterly heart sing. Plus, it means I have an excuse to make him come yarn shopping with me. Yay for couple time! Hahahaha!

Speaking of socks; I started a rainbow pair of Blurred Lines socks for myself.

I ripped them out.

Twice.

I just can’t get the design right. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong, I’ve never had issues following a pattern before. It’s not the pattern, it’s me. I’m definitely misunderstanding it.Β I just don’t get it, I guess. Maybe I’m too new to sock knitting. I’ve never knit with self-striping yarn before either, maybe that’s it. I started the sock over foregoing the design, deciding I would at least try the O.M.G. heel, but now they’re in time out. I really want to knit the entire pattern. I will not be defeated! I’ll pick them back up soon(ish), and maybe by then my brain will have had enough time to sort out whatever it is that is causing me to completely muck up simple pattern instructions. I hope.

But never fear, there has been plenty of knitting going on. Ever since I began knitting, my Hubby has been asking for me to knit him a Doctor Who scarf. I dutifully added the pattern to my queue, and I eventually purchased the yarn and placed it in my stash. There it sat, languishing, for nearly a year. I’ve given many excuses, but one day about three weeks ago, I woke up and decided it was time. The knitting is now complete, and I’ve tasked Hubby with the measuring and cutting of the tassel strings. It was not as boring of a knit as I thought it would be. The color changes and my husband’s excitement has made it speed along enjoyably. Now, if he would just finish cutting the yarn for the tassels…

*EDIT: You can see finished scarf photos modeled by my handsome Husband here.

D7K_6290_Rav
Doctor Who Scarf (when it was at the halfway mark)

With my rainbow socks in a time out for being frustrating, and the Doctor Who scarf off the needles, I’ve decided to cast on a hat. I know, I know, but I’m not going to deny it. I love knitting hats! This time I’ve decided to try something new, for me at least. I’m going to try my hand at some color work. I’ve done stripes before sure, but never working two colors at the same time. Last night, I cast on the Atwater Hat by Sara Gresbach. It’s looks super cute, and the color work pattern seems simple enough for my first attempt. I’m knitting it with Madelinetosh Vintage in Tart and Antler, and it reminds me of Christmas.

D7K_6303_Rav
Atwater Hat

Wish me luck!

~Mandy

One thought on “Dreams, Defeat, and Doctor Who

Please Share Your Thoughts

