Knitting · Life · Spinning

Catching Up

It’s been over a year since I last posted.

Life has been busy, blah, blah, blah. I promise I’ve been doing loads of knitting and spinning. I think that Instagram and Facebook have made it easy for me to share what I’ve been up to, so the blog just fell to the wayside. It probably won’t be the last time. How about we start fresh? With the caveat that if you want to keep up with my knitting and spinning adventures, make sure you’re following me on Instagram. Because, I love me some Instagram!

Now, let’s catch up! In my absence this past year, we have moved (hence the busy), my husband changed jobs, and my son both started and finished kindergarten…

Kindergarten_FirstLast

And then started 1st Grade…

IMG_4087

I can’t believe how fast time flies. He was just a baby, I swear it! Excuse me while I go weep for a moment.

We also got a bird…

Processed with VSCOcam with s3 preset
Kingsley, he’s a Budgie/Parakeet.

And I taught my son how to knit…

In the course of all this moving, and school functions, and volunteering, and whatnot; I have been on a major purge and organize spree. Our closets and dressers have never looked so amazing. Even my yarn and fiber stash got an overhaul. I am ready for Fall and the new school year! Bring on the cooler temps!

And most recently, I acquired a new spinning wheel. YAY! I am now the proud spinner of a Schacht Ladybug! Two years ago when I was just a wannabe spinner, you might remember how much I wanted one, but decided on the budget friendly Woolmakers Bliss. I really do love the Bliss, it’s fantastic and I think it’s absolutely perfect for a first wheel. Especially for a beginner that isn’t sure if spinning will be their thing. The Bliss will make it so easy, it will be their thing. I’m just ready for something with more options. I like having the option for a bulky flyer, and a WooLee Winder. I’m also excited to to try spinning in double-drive. The Bliss is great because of it’s simplicity, but it is time for me to move on, and for Miss Bliss to teach another wannabe how to love spinning.

IMG_3997IMG_3995IMG_4002

When I decided it was time for a new wheel, I really wanted a Hansen miniSpinner. I still do, and will probably be forever saving for one. It’s my dream wheel. However, I’m pretty freaking in love with my Ladybug, and I think we will be lifelong pals. Even when I finally have that miniSpinner, I can’t see ever giving her up. Now, if I could just get a WooLee Winder for her. I think it’ll make plying, especially navajo plying, so much more enjoyable without having to stop and change hooks. Christmas wish list!

I think we’re pretty much caught up for now. Yes, there has been knitting, but in the interest of time, I’ll direct you to my Instagram once again, and there you will see all my knitting over these past months. You’ll also see our bird being a goofball.

Happy knitting and spinning,
~Mandy

P.S. My computer just crashed, again. Sigh. I do believe I’ll have to send it out for repairs…so if I’m absent, well, you know the drill.

One thought on “Catching Up

  1. I love the Ladybug wheel. I was so close to getting one and it was the first wheel I ever spun on, but Kromski’s Sonata stole my heart. And your son knitting is so cute! I bet he can make a really good facecloth for himself now.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Share Your Thoughts

